• You cannot reply to this topic

Game movements

#1 User is offline   jillybean 

• hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Multi

Posted 2023-June-09, 09:23

Does anyone have any material that explains movements?

"Setting Up Game Movements for Dummies" style.
I have very little knowledge of movements, it's something McBruce does here, all I have to do is try to follow the maze of tables he has set up.
"And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly." MikeH
(still learning)

#2 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2023-June-09, 12:16

wikipedia is often a good start.

#3 User is offline   AL78 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, hiking, cycling, gardening, weight training

Posted 2023-June-10, 06:15

View Postpescetom, on 2023-June-09, 12:16, said:

wikipedia is often a good start.

"A complete movement, in which each entrant plays against all of the other entrants or in which all entrants in each scoring field play against all of the same field of opponents, is inherently the fairest choice. The worst scenario is a movement that is one round short of complete: one entrant does not play against a very strong competitor, thus gaining a significant advantage, while another entrant does not play against a very weak competitor, thus incurring a significant disadvantage."

At my club we frequently have to knock off the last round because the players aren't able to keep to 15 mins/two board round, and I hadn't appreciated the reduction in fairness that results.

#4 User is offline   jdiana 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2023-June-10, 06:38

The ACBL has some resources that might be helpful - https://www.acbl.org/club-corner/

Howell - https://web2.acbl.or...VACB/howell.pdf

Mitchell - https://web2.acbl.or...CB/mitchell.pdf