Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bridge Survey

#1 User is offline   chriskenny 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-October-10, 18:08

I'm a graduate student working on a project to help raise awareness for the game of bridge. I've spoken to some club players and even learned the rules (or as much as I could handle in one afternoon).

But I'd like to know BBO forum members' thoughts on the game, how some of you got involved with it and other hobbies that you might have.

I wrote up a short survey (http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/RCVMLM5) that I'd really appreciate if you helped me with. If you have other thoughts, feel free to post here. I'd love to know more about why you play bridge.

I appreciate any help and, hopefully, can bring more people into the world of bridge through this research.

Thanks!

Chris

#2 User is offline   Zelandakh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-October-11, 06:20

You will find some of my history here. Quick summary: I started playing bridge because the books in the library were close to the chess and maths sections.
(-: Zel :-)

#3 User is offline   billw55 

• enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-October-11, 07:12

View Postchriskenny, on 2012-October-10, 18:08, said:

I've spoken to some club players and even learned the rules (or as much as I could handle in one afternoon).

This bit ties in with something people were saying in the other thread (linked by Zel). It can be hard to learn the rules alone in a few hours (!). I can't think of another game where learning the rules takes nearly so long.
Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn

#4 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2012-October-11, 07:33

View Postbillw55, on 2012-October-11, 07:12, said: