BBO Discussion Forums: "you have no clue..." - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

"you have no clue..."

Poll: "you have no clue..." (66 member(s) have cast votes)

Opposite a random BBO expert, I'd bid...

1. Pass, obviously (15 votes [19.23%])

Percentage of vote: 19.23%

2. Stayman, obviously (10 votes [12.82%])

Percentage of vote: 12.82%

3. Pass, but it's close (15 votes [19.23%])

Percentage of vote: 19.23%

4. Stayman, but it's close (22 votes [28.21%])

Percentage of vote: 28.21%

5. Pass or Stayman are both ok (4 votes [5.13%])

Percentage of vote: 5.13%

6. Give up playing with random experts (12 votes [15.38%])

Percentage of vote: 15.38%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 User is offline   MickyB 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-June-11, 12:09

View Postphil_20686, on 2012-June-11, 11:54, said:

Since I started playing transfer Walsh I feel like I have a pretty strong reason not to upgrade, as the chance of reaching a good 2M/3m partscore instead of 1N is dramatically increased compared to standard methods, at least if the opponents pass

Really?

Nat/bal club with transfer walsh allows you to occasionally stop in 1M with 11-13 NTs and in 1N with 17-19 NTs. It also allows you to reach 4-4 spade fits when some people bid 1m:1H, 1N:P. However, I can't see how it makes it easier to reach a good 3m part-score, quite the opposite in fact.

I suspect that a reverse effect happens if you play precision, as now the 1d (and 2c) opener is such a loser that it makes sense to upgrade frequently.

A nat/bal limited 1D opening should tend to do better than a nat/bal wide-ranging 1C opening. Obviously many Precisionites open 1D on some unbalanced club hands, but then their 2C opening shows 6 cards and isn't a loser any more IMO.

#22 User is offline   phil_20686 

• Scotland
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-June-11, 13:35