BBO Discussion Forums: EBU National Grading Scheme - BBO Discussion Forums

• 9 Pages +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

EBU National Grading Scheme How accurate is it likely to be?

#41 User is offline   Oof Arted 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-March-10, 10:09

Seems to be just another waste of time and money :blink:

#42 User is offline   SimonFa 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, sailing (yachts and dinghies),

Posted 2012-March-10, 11:23

I've been playing for about 18 months and play at 3 clubs with a number of partners and am quite pleased to see my grade is a a shade over 50%.

Interesting, after about 100 GIB MP tourney's my average is also a shade over 50%.

#43 User is offline   gnasher 

• Andy Bowles
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-March-10, 11:59

Oof Arted, on 2012-March-10, 10:09, said:

Seems to be just another waste of time and money

That remains to be seen. If it gives people another reason to play more face-to-face bridge, that's a good thing. If it encourages them to play better, that's a good thing too. Those benefits may not materialise, or they may turn out to be insufficient to justify the cost, but I think it's premature to assume this.

There have been several posts pointing out flaws in the system. I don't think it matters that it won't work perfectly - for differentiating good players from bad, it's a vast improvement on masterpoints. For players near the top, we can continue to assess them by asking the question "What has he won?" (This would, by the way, give a quick, easy and correct answer to the question mentioned in awm's final paragraph.)