BBO Discussion Forums: A double lead against 6S - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

A double lead against 6S

Poll: What do you... (14 member(s) have cast votes)

Lead if partner passes?

  1. heart (5 votes [35.71%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.71%

  2. diamond (2 votes [14.29%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.29%

  3. club (7 votes [50.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 50.00%

Lead if partner doubles?

  1. heart (2 votes [14.29%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.29%

  2. diamond (1 votes [7.14%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.14%

  3. club (11 votes [78.57%])

    Percentage of vote: 78.57%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   han 

  • Under bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 11,797
  • Joined: 2004-July-25
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 2011-May-07, 07:57

You hold something like - Q9xx K10xx 98xxx. You pass as dealer, RHO opens 1S in fourth seat and the opponents have the following auction:

p - 1S
2C* - 4D
4H - 5D
5S - 6S

2C is Drury, 4D is a splinter, 4H is last train.

What would you lead if partner passes, and what would you lead if partner doubles?
Please note: I am interested in boring, bog standard, 2/1.

- hrothgar
0

#2 User is offline   phil_20686 

  • Scotland
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,754
  • Joined: 2008-August-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 2011-May-07, 08:16

i think that if partner doubles then he is suggesting a club lead.

With no indication, I think its tough. I generally favour agressive leads, and a club is not necessarily safe, but rho has shown a strong hand with cards in both hearts and clubs, It seems too likely i could be leading into AJx or KJx and giving away a trick, when it is not clear that the opposition will have 12 tricks on their own, so I will lead a club anyway.
The physics is theoretical, but the fun is real. - Sheldon Cooper
0

#3 User is offline   gnasher 

  • Andy Bowles
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 11,993
  • Joined: 2007-May-03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 2011-May-07, 08:48

Without the double, I'd lead a diamond. A heart is obviously not going to do any good, because partner didn't double 4. With RHO making a grand slam try, it doesn't seem likely that a club will work either. Anyway, if we have a club trick it's probably not being discarded. Our best chance seems to be to try to set up a trump trick for partner.

If partner doubles, I lead my lowest club. He has a void somewhere, and it's more likely to be in clubs than in hearts. I have one more club than heart, and anyway 9-card major-suit fits tend to get mentioned in the bidding.
... that would still not be conclusive proof, before someone wants to explain that to me as well as if I was a 5 year-old. - gwnn
0

#4 User is offline   han 

  • Under bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 11,797
  • Joined: 2004-July-25
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 2011-May-07, 09:23

I actually forgot to mention that you were the dealer, I will edit it.
Please note: I am interested in boring, bog standard, 2/1.

- hrothgar
0

#5 User is offline   Hanoi5 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,080
  • Joined: 2006-August-31
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile
  • Interests:Bridge, Video Games, Languages, Travelling.

Posted 2011-May-07, 13:47

I'd lead a diamond. 2 wasn't natural, so I don't think the double calls for that. But it will be nice to know the lightner implications in this case.

 wyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.


 rbforster, on 2012-May-20, 21:04, said:

Besides playing for fun, most people also like to play bridge to win


My YouTube Channel
0

#6 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2011-May-07, 17:41

View Posthan, on 2011-May-07, 07:57, said:

You hold something like - Q9xx K10xx 98xxx. You pass as dealer, RHO opens 1S in fourth seat and the opponents have the following auction:
p - 1S
2C* - 4D
4H - 5D
5S - 6S
2C is Drury, 4D is a splinter, 4H is last train.
What would you lead if partner passes, and what would you lead if partner doubles?
IMO
  • If partner passes, then a club
  • If parter doubles then a heart
In her excellent "I love this game". Sabine Auken recommends that partnerships agree rigid rules for Lightner. Lacking rigid rules you might argue...
  • Declarer has cued twice, so partner would be brave to double for that lead.
  • Dummy's 5 seems to have denied control, so
  • Declarer's 6 implies control,
  • So a would be the normal lead hence, IMO
  • Partner's double is more likely indicate a lead.

0

#7 User is offline   wank 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,866
  • Joined: 2008-July-13

Posted 2011-May-07, 18:20

if partner doubles i'm leading a club. No I changed my mind. I'll lead a heart - there's more chance that partner would have acted already with a void club.

if partner doesn't double i'm leading a diamond - when declarer splinters and drives slam it's a prime sign of a mickey-take.
0

#8 User is offline   Fluffy 

  • World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 17,404
  • Joined: 2003-November-13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:madrid

Posted 2011-May-07, 20:46

ain't anyone taking into account that partner could have doubled 4 for the lead but didn't?
0

#9 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2011-May-07, 22:13

View PostFluffy, on 2011-May-07, 20:46, said:

ain't anyone taking into account that partner could have doubled 4 for the lead but didn't?
Only gnasher and he doesn't really count :)
0

#10 User is offline   Phil 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,092
  • Joined: 2008-December-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Texas, USA
  • Interests:Mountain Biking

Posted 2011-May-09, 10:27

Definitely a club with the double.

Without the double, I'd probably lead a heart, but I could be convinced this is wrong.

This auction reeks that my opps are operating. Why am I suspicious?
Hi y'all!

Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
0

#11 User is offline   Free 

  • mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,728
  • Joined: 2003-July-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2011-May-10, 05:10

is the normal lead imo. It looks to me like RHO doesn't have a cue, and LHO is scared. I'm not sure that Dbl should change my lead in this case.
"It may be rude to leave to go to the bathroom, but it's downright stupid to sit there and piss yourself" - blackshoe
0

#12 User is offline   whereagles 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 14,900
  • Joined: 2004-May-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Everything!

Posted 2011-May-10, 06:58

I would lead a club, dbl or no dbl. Reason: pard didn't dbl 4 and the diamond lead seems pointless.

It's more a judgement thing than lightner stuff. I think...
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users